11 Comments
author

Thanks for posting this Alexandra! My current phone is a Samsung S8 and I've owned it for just over a year. The phone screen cracked about 6 months ago but the phone itself still works - however I feel like it's just a matter of time until it happens again.

For my next phone I want to get a Fairphone, something I've been meaning to do for years, and actually repair the parts that break!

Expand full comment
Oct 21, 2021Liked by Cass Hebron

My Huawei P20 is 3 years old. Battery is going but I just use a power bank to top up if I'm out and about. My tips would be to share unused or unwanted phones with friends and family so they get reused. Buy refurbished - standards are much better now than a few years ago and you can get some real bargains. Buy a Fairphone - a modular handset that you can repair and upgrade yourself (the latest model is 5G enabled). The big one is to resist the upgrade when your contract comes up for renewal. We're stuck in such a cycle 'upgrading' but it's just unecessary. Lastly, I would switch network provider to Honest Mobile, your coop mobile or eco talk. All ethical alternatives and they don't hard sell you to upgrade unneccessarily.

Expand full comment
Oct 21, 2021Liked by Cass Hebron, Alexandra

My current phone is an iPhone SE I got as a graduation present from my parents in september 2016 (so it’s five years old now), before that I used a second hand iPhone that used to be my mom’s.

Expand full comment
Oct 22, 2021Liked by Alexandra

There seems to be a bit of prejudice against Apple, but their smartphones really do last a long time. They're well built, and the company provides software updates for many years. Of course, screens are delicate, but I always use a case and have never had a crack. I also usually don't buy new phones, but refurbished ones, on sites like Rebuy.

Expand full comment
Oct 21, 2021Liked by Cass Hebron

I have a Samsung Galaxy A3 (2016) and I have it since summer 2016. I would definitely buy a phone that can be repaired and where its materials are fairly sources!

Expand full comment
Jan 6, 2022Liked by Cass Hebron

My phone is 6-7 years old, a LG spree and now I HAVE to get a new one...but I think I am going phoneless instead of putting 5G in my pocket....email will be my only connection....fuck 5g

Expand full comment
Oct 24, 2021Liked by Alexandra

I have a Samsung Galaxy S20 that I bought a year ago after moving from US to Belgium. I hope we stay here long enough to get at least 4 years out of it before moving again. It does have a few cracks but I've put the case back on and hopefully it will be ok!

Expand full comment