17 Comments
author

Thanks for making the thread Alexandra! For me, I've really slowed down this January and have spent far more time doing things that have nothing to do with work - going to art exhibitions, walks, the cinema - and it really has made work seem less all-consuming.

Expand full comment
author

One habit I have been taking on has been trying to write daily. I have been wanting to pick up daily journaling for a while and writing even only a few sentences about my impressions of the day on my journal has been making me very happy.

Expand full comment
Jan 26, 2022Liked by Cass Hebron

I have been going for walks most lunchtimes. I go to my local park and sit on a bench reading my book - and in the process I've rekindled my love of reading that got lost when my mental health was bad in 2021. I've also been making time for hobbies like sports and music making. It's helped me connect with myself and my interests better. I felt like I lost my sense of self last year so it's lovely to get that back little by little.

Expand full comment
Jan 26, 2022Liked by Cass Hebron, Alexandra

I'm getting back into baking after several months without an oven. I really missed it so it is making me extra happy to do it.

Expand full comment
Jan 26, 2022Liked by Cass Hebron

Just getting out of the house more, even popping to cafe round the corner from me to listen to a podcast seems to have made a huge difference. I had gotten so used to being at home the last 2 years, I'd forgotten the difference it makes. Plus swimming again

Expand full comment
Jan 26, 2022Liked by Cass Hebron

I paid for the private work out coach and this was the best decision! I feel super energetic! As I have ADHD building my own routine is impossible. So I appreciate I have the means to have this person to help me.

Expand full comment
Jan 26, 2022Liked by Cass Hebron

For me slowing down and going outside into nature for hikes or mtb tours does the job.

Expand full comment
Jan 27, 2022Liked by Cass Hebron

One new habit I've started is taking melatonin before I go to bed. It's been helping me to fall asleep more quickly and to not stay awake after 3 am if there is something that wakes me up. My mind would start racing with all sorts of worries, including those about the climate crisis!

Expand full comment

I love practicing guitar during breaks. The concentration it requires immediately drives away all worrying and mulling. At the same time, the repetitive actions and focus on timbre lets you flow away, into the music.

Expand full comment