7 Comments
Dec 2, 2021Liked by Cass Hebron

I live in White City, London. The biggest park near me is Wormholt park but it's mostly just grass with only a handful of trees. But what I love about where I live are the numerous small community gardens that are hidden among the houses where people come together to grow all sorts of flowers and plants!

Expand full comment
Dec 2, 2021Liked by Cass Hebron

Wishing you a lovely December as well! I am lucky to say that I have a green space near me in my neighbourhood, in Brussels. It's called Parc Josaphat <3

Expand full comment
Dec 2, 2021Liked by Cass Hebron

Brussels is much greener than it might seem on the surface. When I lived close to Forest I walked endlessly in Parc Duden and Parc de Forest which was a blessing because of the lockdown. Now I live close to Ten Bosch park which is small but really interesting (snaking paths, differences in level, a pond with turtles, different types of vegetation etc) and Abbaye de la Cambre. Lovely to see other people's favorites too!

Expand full comment
Dec 2, 2021Liked by Cass Hebron

I'd have to say my favorite park nearby is Park Royale in Brussels. It's not the biggest or the greenest park in Brussels, but it's the closest for me. I can get some shade in the summer to cool off, grab a seat and a cappuccino at their outdoor restaurant and give my dog a quick walk if that's all I have time for.

Expand full comment
Dec 2, 2021Liked by Cass Hebron

I live in Bracknell (or Bracknell Forest to give it its full name!) and we’re surrounded by green spaces. We live near South Hill Park, an arts centre with huge grounds and carved wooden animals around the paths. We also live near The Look Out, which is a huge forest area. It really is a beautiful place to live. Even the shopping centre is inspired by it, with walls that pipe out scents of different trees and nature-inspired sculptures.

Expand full comment
author

Thanks for posting this Alexandra! My favourite place is Citadelpark near my new place in Ghent - the colours are absolutely stunning (here's a pic I took recently: https://www.instagram.com/p/CW0PGnst3iA/) I've noticed a real difference in the last couple of months since moving somewhere that has a lot of green spaces nearby. In Brussels I really struggled to spend enough time in nature.

Expand full comment

Here in Portland OR my best space is my yard, once was a wasteland but now has transformed it into a greenery of all sorts....due to my partners love of gardening...and my love of my partner...we have a huge Doug Fir (medicine) and a huge Conker Horsechestnut (also medicine) and lots of stupid English Ivy (also medicine, esp for Covid crazily enuf, look that one up!) ....so we can go to a forest in the backyard...beyond that, I like to visit an area near us called Smith and Bybee Lakes, it is pretty nice, a large park area of about 2 sq miles. Hoping to depave our driveway someday for more gardening space, due to the trees all over our lot. They cool us in summer tho.

Expand full comment